Electronic Structure group is an association of scientists operating in the Department of Physics of the Faculty of Physics, Mathematics and Optometry and, in cooperation with the Nanoelectronics Theory Group, carries out scientific activities in the following areas:

  • First-principles methods;
  • Computational materials science;
  • Theory of nanoscale electronic devices;
  • Physics of quantum computing.

Current researsh project of Eectronic Structure group are devoted to:

  • Linearised augmented plane waves (LAPW);
  • Many-body perturbation theory;
  • Relativity in DFT calculation.

Electronic Structure group is led by UL FPMO docent and leading researcher Andris Guļāns. More information on the composition of the group and current issues in research can be found on the website.